Third phase of Lok Sabha elections: Voting begins in 93 constituencies today

The polling  is being held in 93 Lok Sabha constituencies across 11 states and Union Territories in the third phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024 today.

As many as 1,331 candidates are in the fray in the phase 3 polls, the Elections Commission of India said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi cast his vote at a school in Ahmedabad, Gujarat early morning. Before casting his vote the PM urged all those who are voting in today’s phase to vote in record numbers. “Their active participation will certainly make the elections more vibrant,” the PM said in a post on X.

Fate of over 283 Lok Sabha seats would be sealed after the third phase is over today. This means elections to more than half of the 543 Lok Sabha seats will be over in the first three phases.

Voting began at 7 am and ends at 6 pm.  Voting will be completed in Gujarat and Goa states and Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Union territory on Tuesday. Also with 14 seats voting in this phase, voting for all 28 seats of Karnataka will also be over today. With seven seats voting today, the Lok Sabha Election for 11 seats of Chhattisgarh will also be over.

Among the other seats third phase are four in Assam, five in Bihar, seven in Chhattisgarh, nine in Madhya Pradesh, 11 in Maharashtra, 10 in Uttar Pradesh and four in West Bengal.

Among the key candidates whose fate will be sealed today include Union Home Minister Amit Shah who is contesting from Gandhinagar (Gujarat),  Shivraj Singh Chouhan from Vidisha (MP), Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna (MP) and Dimple Yadav from Mainpuri (UP), to name a few.

Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule taking on his nephew Ajit Pawar’s wife Sunetra Pawar from Baramati seat in Maharashtra is also a keenly-watched contest in third phase.

Union Ministers Mansukh Mandaviya (Porbandar), Parshottam Rupala (Rajkot) and Pralhad Joshi (Dharwad) are also in the fray in this phase of polling.