President Murmu Presents 69th National Film Awards

President Droupadi Murmu on Tuesday presented screen icon Waheeda Rehman the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award and honoured other winners of the 69th National Film Awards, including  Kadaisi Vivasayi director Manikandan, Madhavan, Singer Shreya Ghosal, Allu Arjun, Alia Bhatt and Kriti Sanon.

The National Film Awards were announced in August honouring the best in cinema for the year 2021.

Manikandan, who had earlier won the National Award for Best Children’s Film in 2015 for his debut film ‘Kaaka Muttai’ has won the award again for his film ‘Kadaisi Vivasayi (The Last Farmer), for the Best Tamil Film at the 69th edition of the renowned National Film Awards.

Madhavan received the National Award for Best Film honour for Rocketry.

Shreya Ghoshal won the best female playback award for her song “Mayava Chaayavaa’ for the film Iravin Ninzhal. RRR won five awards, including best male playback singer for Kalabhairava for the song “Komuram Bheemudo”.

While Arjun won the best actor award for the Telugu film “Pushpa: The Rise”, the best actress honour was shared by Alia and Kriti for Hindi films “Gangubai Kathaiwadi” and “Mimi”, respectively. This is the first National Award for all three actors.