Polls to three Rajya Sabha seats in Kerala to be held on 30 April

The Election Commission (EC) on Monday declared that polls to the three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala falling vacant later this month will be held on 30 April.

The poll panel issued a detailed press note for “conduct of biennial election to the council of states from Kerala to fill the seats of members retiring on April 21”.

Those retiring from these seats include Abdul Wahab (IUML), KK Ragesh (CPI M) and Vayalar Ravi (Congress).

The EC said notification for the polls will be issued on Tuesday and polling will be held between 9 am and 4 pm on April 30. The votes will be counted on the same day.

In Rajya Sabha polls, votes are counted in the evening.

The election process for these seats were in the news recently after the EC had earlier put in abeyance these polls.

The decision of the poll panel to issue a fresh schedule came on a day when the Kerala High Court directed it to hold the biennial election to the three Rajya Sabha seats from the state from the present state assembly.