‘PMK to fight Vikravandi byelection on NDA’s behalf’: BJP

The by-election to the Vikravandi Assembly constituency heated up on Friday with the decision that PMK will field its candidate as part of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance in Tamil Nadu.

Meanwhile, NTK leader Seeman announced Dr Abhinaya, a Siddha doctor, as his party’s candidate.

BJP State president K Annamalai, in a statement, announced that the PMK will contest the by-election to Vikravandi constituency.

He said the decision was made unanimously by leaders of all the parties in the NDA in Tamil Nadu. PMK is expected to announce its candidate soon.

The ruling DMK has already fielded Anniyur Siva as its candidate. The principal opposition party – AIADMK – which secured a significant number of votes in this constituency in 2021 Assembly election, is yet to announce its candidate. Also, AIADMK had won the the by-election to Vikravandi constituency in 2019 when it was the ruling party.

If the AIADMK announces its candidate, there will be a four-cornered contest in Vikravandi in this by-election and this could turn out to be one of the intensely fought by-elections.

In the just concluded Lok Sabha elections, VCK, which contested in alliance with the ruling DMK, secured the highest number of 72,188 votes in the Vikravandi assembly segment within the Villupuram Lok Sabha constituency.

It was followed by AIADMK, which secured 65,365 votes. PMK and NTK respectively secured 32,198 and 8,352 votes.