Nitish switches sides yet again, takes oath as CM

Janata Dal-United JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar took oath as Chief Minister of the Indian state of Bihar on Sunday (Jan 28) for the record ninth time at Raj Bhawan in Patna after cutting ties with the combined opposition’s INDIA alliance.

Samrat Chaudhary and Vijay Kumar Sinha, both from BJP, took the oath as Deputy Chief Ministers.

After days of speculation, Kumar resigned as the Chief Minister of Bihar on Sunday (Jan 28). The resignation came within 18 months of the JD(U) leader ditching the BJP and going with RJD.

Hours later, he took the oath as Bihar CM for the ninth time and formed a new state government with BJP’s support.

The Bihar chief minister, after taking the oath, affirmed, “We are going to stay together now.”

“I was with them (NDA) earlier too. We went on different paths, but now we are together and will remain so. Today, eight people have taken oath as ministers, the rest will take oath soon. Samrat Choudhary and Vijay Sinha have been appointed as Deputy Chief Ministers,” Nitish Kumar told reporters on Sunday.

On being asked about RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav’s statement where he claimed that JDU will be finished in 2024, Kumar said that his party would work for the development and progress of the state.