Mohan Charan Majhi sworn in as Odisha’s first BJP Chief Minister

Senior BJP tribal leader and four-time MLA Mohan Charan Majhi on Wednesday took oath as Chief Minister of Odisha at an event attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and former Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. Notably, Manoj Majhi is BJP’s first Chief Minister in the state.

The mega oath-taking ceremony took place at around 5 pm at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar.

BJP leaders KV Singh Deo and Pravati Parida were also sworn in as deputy chief ministers of Odisha.

Additionally, Prithiviraj Harichandan, Dr Mukesh Mahaling, Bibhuti Bhusan Jena and Dr Krushna Chandra Mohapatra also took oath as ministers in the Mohan Majhi-led government.

Other ministers who took oath included Suresh Pujari, Rabinarayan Naik, Nityananda Gond, Krushna Chandra Patra, Ganesh Ram Singh Khuntia, Suryabanshi Suraj and Pradeep Balasamanta.

Oaths were administered by Odisha Governor Raghubar Das. A beeline of top BJP leaders, including PM Modi, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, JP Nadda, Bhupender Yadav, Dharmendra Pradhan, Jual Oram and Ashwini Vaishnaw were in attendance for the mega event.

Naveen Patnaik, who ruled Odisha for as many as 24 years, attended the event after Majhi met him earlier in the day and invited him to the swearing-in ceremony.