Fourth phase polling in 96 constituencies today

The fourth phase of voting for the 2024 Lok Sabha commenced in 96 Lok Sabha constituencies across 10 states and Union Territories. A total of 1,717 candidates are in the fray in this phase.

At 9 am, 10.4% voter turnout was recorded across 10 states and union territories. Polling is being held in all 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, all 25 seats in Andhra Pradesh, 13 in Uttar Pradesh, five in Bihar, four in Jharkhand, eight in Madhya Pradesh, 11 in Maharashtra, four in Odisha, eight in West Bengal and one in Jammu and Kashmir.

Voting is also taking place in the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency and it is the first major election in Kashmir after the abrogation of Article 370 in August 2019. Voting is simultaneously be held in all 175 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh and 28 in Odisha in the fourth phase.

More than 19 lakh polling officials have been deployed at 1.92 lakh polling stations for the over 17.70 crore eligible voters in this round.

Prominent candidates in the fray are Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, Union minister Giriraj Singh, TMC’s firebrand leader Mohua Moitra and AIMIM’s Asaduddin Owaisi, Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, former cricketer Yusuf Pathan of TMC, Andhra Pradesh Congress president YS Sharmila among others.

The Lok Sabha elections are being held across seven phases, from April 19 to June 1. The counting is scheduled for June 4.