DMK, Congress hold first round of discussions for seat sharing

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and Congress on Sunday held their first round of talks for seat sharing in Tamil Nadu for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The discussions were held at the DMK headquarters in Chennai and was attended by a five-member team of the Congress and seven-member panel of the DMK.

The Congress team comprised senior national leaders Mukul Wasnik, Salman Khurshid and Ajoy Kumar, and Tamil Nadu Congress Committee chief K S Alagiri and Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader K Selva Perunthagai.

The DMK panel was led by parliamentary party leader T R Baalu and comprised MPs Tiruchi N Siva and A Raja, former state higher education minister K Ponmudy and state ministers K N Nehru, I Periyasamy, and M R K Panneerselvam.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting, Wasnik said: “We had a long discussion and discussed how all of us can move together to once again gain the confidence of the people of Tamil Nadu and unseat the dispensation at the Centre, which has posed a serious challenge to the Constitution of India and our democratic polity, and bring back those forces which will take the nation strongly on the path of democracy.”