Chennai Super Kings lifts IPL 2023 trophy

MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings won the final match against Hardik Pandya-led Gujarat Titans in the IPL 2023 finale held at Narendra Modi Stadium.

The IPL 2023 trophy was lifted by Chennai Super Kings, for the 5th time in the history of IPL.

Ravindra Jadeja hit a four off the last ball as Chennai Super Kings equalled Mumbai Indians’ record for most IPL titles.

Sai Sudharsan had propelled Gujarat Titans to a score of 214/4 by smashing 96 off just 47 balls.

The 23-year-old Chennai lad smashed eight fours and six sixes in his innings as he made the most of the death overs.

Earlier, Wriddhiman Saha scored 54 off 39 on a day when his prolific opening partner Shubman Gill was limited to a score of 39 off 20.

Only slight drizzles appeared throughout the GT innings which didn’t cause stoppages of any kind.

However, the stoppage came eventually after the third ball of the first over of the CSK innings with heavy rain pouring down at the stadium.

While the rain itself didn’t last long, it was the wet outfield, particularly a problematic practice pitch at the edge of the square that caused the biggest delay.

Finally, the match got reduced to 15 overs and CSK’s target was revised to 171. The match eventually resumed and it has been a see-saw affair ever since.

Big hits from Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube and Ambati Rayudu helped CSK’s cause but Mohit Sharma came in with the important wickets whenever it looked like the opposition was running away with it.

Mohit bowled the last over as well and brought it down to CSK needing 10 to win off the last two balls.

But Ravindra Jadeja ended up smashing the second last ball for a six and the last ball for a four to lead CSK to a five-wicket win and their fifth title.