Bypoll to be held in six states tomorrow

On September 5, seven Assembly seats across six states will hold bypolls to fill vacant seats, in what are set to be the first contests between the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance and the Opposition INDIA bloc ahead of several Assembly polls in major states later this year.

In five seats, by-elections were necessitated by the deaths of the sitting MLAs, while the two other MLAs resigned from their post.

The seats set to go to polls on Tuesday include Dumri in Jharkhand, Puthuppally in Kerala, Boxanagar and Dhanpur in Tripura, Bageshwar in Uttarakhand, Ghosi in Uttar Pradesh, and Dhupguri in West Bengal.

The results of the polls, which will be the first one to be held after the formation of the alliance, will be announced on Friday, the Election Commission said last month. Dumri assembly seat in Jharkhand, Boxanagar and Dhanpur seats in Tripura, Dhupguri assembly constituency in West Bengal, Ghosi seat in Uttar Pradesh, Puthuppally seat in Kerala, and Bageshwar seat in Uttarakhand will undergo the bypolls.