Voting underway for Karnataka Elections, 8.21 per cent turnout till 9 am

After a high-voltage campaign, Karnataka is set for the mega battle of ballots. The voting for 224 assembly constituencies in Karnataka started from 7 am and will continue till 6 pm.

A total of 5,31,33,054 electors are eligible to cast their votes in 58,545 polling stations across the state. The major political parties in contention are the BJP, Congress, and JD(S) The majority mark to form the government is 113 seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has called for high voter turnout in Karnataka, meanwhile, the Congress party urged voters to ‘vote wisely’.

Former Karnataka CM and JDS leader HD Kumaraswamy casts his vote along with his family for Karnataka Assembly Election 2023 at a polling booth in Ramanagara.

Union minister Pralhad Joshi on Wednesday cast his vote and later he took to Twitter to share photo of the same. He said in a tweet, on the occasion of the Karnataka Assembly Election 2023, I cast my vote today in Hubli with my family at Vivekananda Nagar Rotary School, Nagashettikoppa and exercised our right to vote.

A voter turnout of 8.26 per cent was recorded in the first two hours of polling in Karnataka Legislative Assembly elections on Wednesday, according to Election Commission data.

The highest percentage was in the coastal district of Udupi (13.28 per cent) and the lowest in Chamarajanagar district (5.75 per cent) till 9 am.