Vishal to face tough contest in Nadigar Sangam polls

Actors Nasser and Vishal will re-contest for president and general secretary posts in Pandavar Ani for the forthcoming elections to Nadigar Sangam.

Nasser will contest for president once again, with Vishal Krishna as general secretary and Karthi as treasurer. However, Ponvannan has been replaced with two contestants – actor S Murugan, also called Poochi Murugan, and Karunas, for the post of vice president.

The 26 members in Nasser’s team are mostly those who have already contested and campaigned for the group. The rest of the candidates include Sriman, Pasupathy, Ramana, Nanda, Thalapthy Dinesh, Sonia Bose, Kutty Padmini, Kovai Sarala, Prem, Rajesh, Manobala, Gerald, Kalimuthu, Ratnappa, M A Prakash, Ajay Rathnam, Prasanna, Jr Balaiya, Hema, Kushbu, MGR Latha, Nithin Sathyaa, Saravanan, Aadhi, Vasudevan and Gandhi Karaikudi (for executive committee members posts).

The much-awaited Nadigar Sangam election to be held on June 23 once again promises to be a fierce contest, as the incumbent ‘Pandavar Ani’ — led by Nadigar Sangam president actor Nasser and general secretary actor Vishal Krishna — will face a tough challenge from well-known educationist and producer Ishari K. Ganesh, actor Udhaya and others.

Ganesh was in actor Vishal’s camp earlier when he took on former president Sarathkumar and general secretary Radha Ravi in 2015, he will contest against Vishal for the post of general secretary in 2019. Actor Udhaya will contest for the post of vice-president.

Following the appointment of the electoral officer, it has been officially announced that the Nadigar Sangam elections will be held on June 23 at the premises of MGR-Janaki College with police protection.

Udhaya said: “Ishari Ganesh will contest for the post of general secretary and I will contest for the post of vice-preisdent. We will announce the candidate for president by Thursday.”