Vasan's TMC not to contest in polls in 3 seats

Vasan’s TMC not to contest in polls in 3 seats

Tamil Manila Congress leader G K Vasan today announced that his party will not be contesting in the elections in Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and also in the by-election in Thirupparankundram constituency.

Addressing mediapersons at party headoffice in Teynampet, he said that the decision was taken after consulting the district heads and party members.

“In the past 15 years there has been 22 by-elections and it is only the ruling party which has emerged victorious, no matter how hard the other parties try their best,” Vasan said.

“We have doubts over the conduct of free and fair polls,” Vasan told reporters at his office in Chennai.

Vasan said the bypolls in the state were always in favour of the ruling party and opposition could not pull it off despite its “best efforts.”

The TMC leader, who attended DMK’s all-party meet on Cauvery in Anna Arivalayam on Tuesday, refused to spell out his support to any party.