TTV stumps & stuns rivals, explains how he won RK Nagar

Expelled AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran who scripted an emphatic win in the RK Nagar assembly bypoll has said that he has chosen by people to succeed ‘Amma’ (late chief minister Jayalalithaa), who represented the constituency twice.

Dhinakaran polled 89,013 votes to defeat his nearest
ruling AIADMK rival and former Minister E Madhusudhanan,
who polled 48,306 votes, to emerge a clear winner.

N Maruthu Ganesh of the principal opposition DMK, which
had the support of Congress, MDMK, VCK, the Left Parties,
IUML and other friendly parties, finished third, polling
24,651 votes.

Thanga Tamil Selvan, one of the 18 suspended MLAs in Tamil Nadu owing allegiance to the Dhinakaran camp, was asked about the possibility of a rebellion within the ruling AIADMK.

“If you add the 18 legislators, we have 60 sleeper cells,” he announced with a dramatic flourish. Sleeper cell is a reference to an AIADMK lawmaker who is in fact a Dhinakaran loyalist.

“The people of R.K. Nagar have reflected the mindset of the entire people of Tamil Nadu. Voters have decided to put an end to this anti-people government. This government will fall in the next three months,” said Dhinakaran.