TTV names candidates for by-polls in 4 Assembly seats

AMMK general secretary TTV Dhinakaran today named candidates for the by-elections to be held for four Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu on May 19.

According to a statement from the AMMK, K Sukumar will be its candidate from Sulur, P H Sahul Hameed will contest from Aravakurichi, I Mahendran from Thirupparankkundram and R Sundararaj from Ottapidaram.

Recently, DMK president M K Stalin announced names of his party’s contestants. He said while former Minister Pongalur Palaniswami will contest from Sulur, another former Minister Senthil Balaji will be the DMK’s candidate in Aravakurichi.

Saravanan and M C Shanmugaiah will be the DMK’s candidates in Thiruparakkundram and Ottapidaram, respectively. The ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam is likely to name its candidates today.

Dhinakaran was unanimously elected as AMMK general secretary on Friday, even as a decision was taken to have it registered as a political party.

The move came just a day after Lok Sabha and by-elections to 18 assembly seats concluded in Tamil Nadu and days after the Supreme Court had rebuked the group led by former AIADMK leaders Dhinakaran and V K Sasikala for not registering AMMK as a political party.

Dhinakaran’s elevation was made at a meeting of the AMMK’s senior functionaries at its headquarters in K K Nagar, where it was also decided to register the party with the Election Commission to ensure it got reserved symbol in the next election.