Tripura Aseembly elections: Nearly 88 per cent voting recorded

Nearly 88 per cent of voting was recorded in the one-day Tripura assembly elections, which were “largely peaceful”, a senior EC official said on Friday.

The elections to the 60-member assembly were held across the northeastern state on Thursday.

“An average of 87.63 per cent polling was recorded in the assembly elections, which went till 8.30 or 9 pm on Thursday. The figure excluded the number of polled postal ballots,” Additional CEO Subhasish Bandhopadhyay said.

Of the total 28.14 lakh voters, over 24.66 lakhs have exercised their franchise, he said.

Tripura had, in the 2018 assembly elections, recorded 89.38 per cent voting, while the highest poll percentage was 93 in 2013.

Notably, the Town Bardowali assembly constituency, where Chief Minister Manik Saha is pitted against Congress nominee Asish Kumar Saha, witnessed the lowest voter turnout at 80 per cent, while the Manu assembly seat in South Tripura recorded the highest polling percentage at 92.09, the official said.

Over 90 per cent of voting was recorded in several assembly constituencies in the February 16 polls, he said.

“All the polled EVMs were kept in 36 strong rooms where tight security arrangements have been made, besides round-the-clock CCTV surveillance,” he said.