Total revamp in TN Congress district units

Total revamp in TN Congress district units

The Congress high command (vice-president Rahul Gandhi) on Friday reshuffled the party’s district units in Tamil Nadu.

The total number of District Congress Committees (DCCs) has been increased to 72 from the present 61. Chennai West DCC has been divided into two-Chennai East and West.

According to a statement issued by party general secretary Janardan Dwivedi, Gandhi has cleared the appointments of 72 District Congress Committee (DCC) presidents in the southern state.

Among those named as DCC chiefs in Tamil Nadu were M S Dhiraviyam (Chennai North), Karate R Thyagarajan (Chennai South), Shivarajasekharan (Chennai East) and Veera Pandian (Chennai West).

The announcement of the appointment of a total of 72 district committee presidents came less than a week after Rahul Gandhi’s two-day visit to Chennai to attend M Karunanidhi’s birthday celebrations.

“I think about 25-30 DCC presidents have been retained. The rest are new. I am happy with whatever decision the AICC has taken,” said TNCC president S Thirunavukkarasar.