TNPL to take off in style, film stars to add glitter

TNPL to take off in style, film stars to add glitter

The inaugural India Cements Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) promises to be an exciting affair, with the participation of leading players and film stars.

The league is sure capture the imagination of the masses, the youth in smaller cities in particular. Having the likes of MS Dhoni unveil the trophy, Matthew Hayden as the brand ambassador and Brett Lee, as mentor of one of the franchises, has added credibility and upped its popularity considerably.

This evening, the TNPL will start on a grand note with participation of Dhanush, Shriya Saran, Madhavan, Andrea Jeremiah, Dhanshika and singer Karthik.

The TNPL comes as a ray of hope for the plethora of cricket fans in the region. A total of eight franchisees will participate in the competition, which will be played at three venues in Tamil Nadu.

Several highly-rated young cricketers will be seen plying their trade in the league. Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will play for Dindigul, while batsman Murali Vijay has been picked by Coimbatore.

Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is an Indian Twenty20 cricket league established by the Tamil Nadu State Cricket Association (TNCA) in August, 2016. The domestic cricket competition is modelled along the lines of the popular Indian Premier League (IPL). Only cricketers registered in Tamil Nadu are eligible for the competition. STAR India will be the broadcaster.