TN records 8.76 per cent polling till 10.25 am

Tamilnadu today recorded poll percentage of 8.76 by 10.25 am.  Among districts, Dharmapuri registers the highest of 11.86 percent while Chennai records the lowest turnout of 4.93 percent, according to the Election Commission’s approximate voter turnout trends.

Tamilnadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami casts his vote at a polling station in Siluvampalayam.  DMK president MK Stalin casts his vote at Siet College, Teynampet.

In Tamilnadu, 3,998 candidates are in fray. A total of 88,936 polling stations have been set up by the Election Commission for the electorate to cast their franchise.

There are over 6.28 crore eligible voters. This includes 3.18 crore women, 3.08 crore men and over 7,200 transgenders.

The polling will decide whether the AIADMK will retain power for the third consecutive term or whether the DMK will reclaim it after a decade in Opposition. The DMK has been in the Opposition since 2011 when the AIADMK under Jayalalithaa stormed to the ruling saddle and also retained power in the subsequent elections in 2016.