TN: Big fight starts for 4 Assembly constituencies

With the ruling AIADMK on Tuesday announcing its candidates for the by-elections to be held for four Assembly constituencies on May 19, the focus of Tamil Nadu politics has shifted to the by-polls.

Party Coordinator O Panneerselvam and Joint Coordinator K Palaniswami said in a statement that the decision to field the candidates to Sulur, Aravakurichi, Tirupprankundram and Ottapidaram (SC) was taken by the party’s Parliamentary Board. Palaniswami is the Chief Minister of the state while Panneerselvam is his deputy.

The two leaders named VP Kandasamy (Sulur), VV Senthilnathan (Aravakurichi), S Muniyandi (Tirupparankundram) and P Mohan to Oddapidaram as the party’s nominees. Mohan is a former MLA while the others hold various party posts.

The four Assembly constituencies will go to polls on May 19, nearly a month after 38 out of the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies and 18 Assembly seats went to elections on April 18. The Election Commission had not announced elections to three out of the four seats in March citing cases pending in court.

Filing of nominations for the bye-elections began on Monday for the four constituencies and will end on April 29. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is May 2.

The outcome of the by-polls would decide the continuance of the two year-old Palaniswami-led government as it would have to win a substantial number of seats to stay in power. The DMK and the AMMK have already announced their candidates.

In the present Assembly, the AIADMK has a strength of 113 members, minus the Speaker. It needs a simple majority of 117 to continue in the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly.