TN Assembly passes unanimous resolution against Centre's Dame Safety Bill

TN Assembly passes unanimous resolution against Centre’s Dame Safety Bill

The Tamil Nadu Assembly today adopted an unanimous resolution urging the Centre to keep in abeyance the
Dam Safety Bill till objections raised by the state were addressed threadbare and a consensus evolved with all states.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami introduced the proposal against the Dam Safety Bill in the Assembly and it was unanimously supported by the opposition DMK, Congress and the IUML through a voice vote today afternoon.

Chief Minister in his speech after introducing the resolution said, “When the draft Dam Safety Bill was first introduced by the Central government in 2010, the AIADMK government at the time headed by J Jayalithaa pointed out its problems the Central government dropped the bill.”

He said the the draft Bill would have wide ramifications for Tamil Nadu in operating and maintaining the Mullaiperiyar, Parambikulam, Thoonakadavu and Peruvaripallam dams, which were located in neighbouring state.

He also recalled a letter written to Prime Minister Narendra Modi on June 15 urging the Centre to keep the Bill in abeyance till a consensus was evolved among all states.

“This House urges the Centre to keep in abeyance all efforts towards enacting the proposed Dam Safety Bill (2018) into a law till states are consulted and a consensus evolved,” the resolution said.

DMK Deputy Leader Durai Murugan, who spoke on the resolution, said the bill was “yet another proof that Centre is acting in an authoritarian manner,” and welcomed and supported the resolution on behalf of his party.