Tiruvarur: DMK fields Kalaivanan, AMMK nominates Kamaraj

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam opted to field their respective district secretaries as candidates for the by-elections to the Tiruvarur Assembly constituency, scheduled to be held on January 28.

T T V Dhinakaran-led Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam Friday announced the party’s candidate for the January 28 Tiruvarur bypoll.

In a statement, the party announced the candidature of S Kamaraj, who will take on the nominees of both the ruling AIADMK as well as that of the opposition DMK.

In a statement on Friday, DMK President and Leader of the Opposition in the state MK Stalin, said that Poondi Kalaivanan enjoyed the support of the party as well as allied parties.

Soon after the Election Commission made the announcement on December 31, DMK Principal Secretary TR Baalu and the party’s Legislative Assembly whip R Chakrapani had met MK Stalin, requesting him to contest.

However, Stalin is currently the DMK’s MLA from Kolathur constituency. Facing bye-polls for the first time as party chief, Stalin, however, refused to be the party’s candidate.

Candidates for the by-election need to file their nominations by January 10. Votes will be counted on January 31. The battle lines will become clearer when the AIADMK announces its candidate, in all probability, on Saturday.

Meanwhile, A Noor Mohammed, a resident of Coimbatore district, filed his nomination as an Independent candidate on Friday. Two other Independents had filed their papers on Thursday.