Is Stalin another Vaiko

Stalin’s 20-20 formula, DMK allots seats to CPI(M), MDMK

DMK president M K Stalin today said his party will contest in 20 seats and its allies will contest in 20 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

Speaking to reporters after signing seat sharing deals with the CPI(M) and MDMK, Stalin said the DMK’s alliance for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections has been finalised.

While the DMK would contest in 20 LS seats, the Congress will contest in 10 LS seats, including Puducherry. The CPI, CPI(M) and VCK would contest in two seats each. The MDMK, IUML, IJK and KMDK would contest in one seat each. The MDMK has been given one Rajya Sabha seat.

The Communist Party of India (CPI) and Dravida Munnetra Kazgham (DMK) on Monday signed a poll pact for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

CPI state secretary R Mutharasan and Stalin have signed the seat sharing agreement on two constituencies, ahead of the polls.

Earlier in the day, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) founder-leader Thol Thirumavalavan announced that his party has reached an agreement with DMK for two constituencies for the forthcoming general elections.

VCK leader Thirumavalavan said the two constituencies will be decided later and expressed confidence that the DMK-led alliance will win all the 40 Lok Sabha seats — 39 in Tamil Nadu and the lone Puducherry seat.