Stalin announces names of constituencies of DMK alliance, candidates list on March 17

DMK president M K Stalin today released the list of constituencies to be contested by his party and its alliance partners in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The 20 seats to be contested by the DMK are Chennai–North, South and Central Chennai, Kancheepuram (R), Vellore, Tiruvannamalai, Arakkonam, Sriperumbudur, Dharmapuri, Kallakurichi, Salem, Nilgiris (R), Pollachi, Dindugul, Cuddalore, Mayiladuthurai, Thanjavur, Tuticorin, Tenkasi (R) and Tirunelveli.

Congress will contest from Tiruvallur, Karur, Krishnagiri, Sivaganga, Aarni, Trichy, Theni, Virudhunagar, Kanniyakumari and Puducherry.

While the CPI(M) would contest from Coimbatore and Madurai and the CPI in Tiruppur and Nagapattinam (R), the MDMK led by Vaiko has been given Erode.

The IUML was allotted the Ramanathapuram seat, the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) led by Thol Thirumavalavan was given the Reserved constituencies of Villuppuram and Chidambaram.

The Kongunadu Desiya Makkal Katchi (KDMK) was allotted Namakkal and the Indhiya Jananayaga Katchi (IJK) would contest from Perambalur.

Speaking to reporters, Stalin said the party’s manifesto and candidates list will be released on March 17. He said he would also release a separate manifesto for the 18 Assembly by-elections which were being held along with the LS polls.