RK Nagar Who's the winner, who's the loser

RK Nagar: Who’s the winner, who’s the loser?

With 59 candidates in the fray, the counting for the byelection to the Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly constituency is likely to be completed on Sunday afternoon.

District Election Officer D Karthikeyan carried out inspection at the Queen Mary’s College premises where the EVMs from RK Nagar by-election are kept in the strong room. Addressing mediapersons, he said that the counting will be conducted in 19 rounds on 24 December.

The by-election for Chennai’s RK Nagar assembly seat, which fell vacant after the death of former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa last December, was held on Thursday.

While 84,195 male voters cast their votes, there were 92,862 women who had their index fingers inked. “The percentage of females who voted was 79.21 while for males it was 75.92,” said Karthikeyan.

Karthikeyan, Police Commissioner A.K. Viswanathan and the Returning Officer of R.K. Nagar Assembly, along with observers, reviewed the arrangements at the counting centre. “A three-tier security arrangement is in place,” said Viswanathan.

The main candidates in the constituency are AIADMK’s E Madhusudhanan, DMK’s N Maruthu Ganesh and sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran, who is contesting as an independent candidate. The byelection was necessitated by the demise of former Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa.