RK Nagar EC ups surveillance, appoints more observers

RK Nagar: EC ups surveillance, appoints more observers

The Election Commission has appointed two more Observers, Mallikarjun Utture and Sameer Tekriwal, both IRS officers, for the RK Nagar bypoll, in addition to three Observers earlier appointed by the commission.

In the wake of the Election Commission of India receiving complaints from political parties that the ruling AIADMK is distributing cash for votes in poll bound RK Nagar, ECI appointed two additional observers and increased the number of video surveillance squads on Wednesday.

According to sources with public elections department the appointment of additional observers was to add more surveillance in the constituency.

The Observers will be based at Chepauk State guest house. Public and political parties can contact them and register complaints.

Contact numbers were also provided for the two observers, Sameer Tekriwal (9445036533) and Mallikarjun Utture (9445036536).

The Greater Chennai Corporation has also set up a toll free number (1800-4257012) at the control room in Ripon Building.

With this the high profile constituency has five observers in place to monitor the election code.

Meanwhile a DMK delegation petitioned the ECI officials in Delhi seeking transfer of nine police and three election officers of different ranks for allegedly helping the ruling party to distribute cash for voters in the R.K. Nagar constituency.