RK Nagar: 59 candidates in fray, Dhinakaran gets ‘pressure cooker’

A total of 59 candidates will contest the Dr Radha Krishnan Nagar by-election, popularly known as R K Nagar by-poll. The Election Commission on Thursday released the final list of candidates for the December 21 by-poll.

According to the final list posted on the website of the Tamil Nadu Chief Electoral Officer, a total of 72 nominations were accepted and out of it 13 nominees withdrew, leaving 59 candidates, including a woman, in the contest.

Out of the total 59 candidates who will not contest in the R K Nagar bypoll, only one is a woman. Out of the 59 candidates, 47 are independents. The AIADMK, BSP, BJP, DMK have fielded candidates for the bypoll.

In the last couple of days a buzz was created with the Returning Officer K Velusamy rejecting the nomination of actor Vishal Krishna. He had announced his decision to contest the elections last weekend.

Rebel AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran, who is contesting the bypoll for the R K Nagar constituency as an independent candidate, was on Thursday denied the ‘hat’ symbol which he was allotted earlier this year. Instead, he was allotted the ‘pressure cooker’ symbol from the list of free symbols maintained by the Election Commission.

Dhinakaran had sought the ‘hat’ symbol. But M Ramesh, who is a candidate of a registered political party called Namathu Kongu Munnetra Kazhagam, was allotted the symbol.