RK Nagar 127 file nominations, heated campaign starts

RK Nagar: 127 file nominations, heated campaign starts

As many as 127 persons have filed nominations to contest in RK Nagar by-election. On the last day of filing of nominations on Thursday, 72 candidates submitted their applications at the Tondiarpet corporation zonal office.

With candidates and party workers thronging R K Nagar the constituency on Thursday wore a festive look and witnessed traffic congestion till late evening.

A press release from Ripon Buildings said ECI has appointed IAS officer Praveen Prakash, as general observer and IPS officer Shive Kumar Verma as police observer.

Meanwhile, now that the filing of nominations for the April 12 by-election ended, heated campaigns have started in the constituency.

Chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami campaigned for AIADMK Amma candidate TTV Dinakaran and said Dinakaran will fill the void of Jayalalithaa.

Former minister Durai Murugan campaigned for DMK contestant Marudhu Ganesh and said DMK will come to power in Tamil Nadu in next six months.

Dinakaran told reporters that the decision (to freeze Two Leaves symbol) would not affect his prospects in the by-poll, which caused following the death of former CM J Jayalalithaa, who had twice held the seat in 2015 and 2016.

BJP Candidate and music composer Gangai Amaran also filed his nomination papers from RK Nagar on Thursday, which would witness a multi-cornered contest.