Rajya Sabha interim security report names MPs for unruly behaviour

An internal interim report of Rajya Sabha security is learnt to have named some opposition MPs, including those of Trinamool, Congress and CPI(M), for allegedly indulging in unruly behaviour and clashing with the security personnel deputed there.

The report names Congress members Chhaya Verma, Phulo Devi Netam and Naseer Hussain besides TMC member Dola Sena and CPI(M) MP Elamaram Kareem.

The two-page report comes after opposition MPs and marshals clashed with each other while the General Insurance Bill was being taken up in the Upper House.

The opposition MPs had created uproar as they wanted the bill to be referred to a select committee. The bill was passed amid din.

The security report also says that security personnel from the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha were deployed to protect the table staff and a cordon was made.

It says that one MP mahandled and “severely choked the neck of a male marshal and dragged him in order to break the security cordon”.

It also says that one lady marshal was “pulled and dragged” by women MPs and assaulted in the Well of the House.

A video showing the ruckus in the Rajya Sabha with opposition MPs clashing with the marshals also went viral with both sides blaming each other.

Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu held discussions with officials of the Upper House who told him that no outsiders were deployed as marshals inside the House.

Naidu has also sought a detailed report of the unruly events inside the House from the security staff.