Rajini, Kamal invited for Modi’s swearing in ceremony

The top stars of Tamil cinema, Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan, have been invited for the May 30 swearing-in of Narendra Modi as Prime Minister for second consecutive time.

The process for the swearing-in of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers has started with invitations being sent out for the ceremony to be held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan at 7 pm on May 30 (Thursday).

Both the Tamil top stars have made their foray into politics and Haasan has even launched his political party, Makkal Needhi Maiam, which contested in the recent Assembly bypolls in Tamil Nadu.

In drawing up the guest list for ceremony that’s being prepared to reflect the saffron joy as much as the formal status of being the crowning of the world’s largest democracy’s mightiest personality, the PMO has followed not just political exigencies but also etiquette stretched beyond personal likes and dislikes of the star of the show.

Rajinikanth is yet to formalise his December 2017 announcement on taking the political plunge and he is expected to do it soon, before the next elections to Tamil Nadu Assembly.

It may be recalled that Kamal has been opposed to the BJP, even expressing joy that the saffron party which swept the Lok Sabha seats in rest of the country, did not win a single seat in Tamil Nadu, saying the state did not toe the national line.