Rajini, Kamal, Ajith, Vijay, Suriya cast votes

Superstar Rajinikanth, Kamal Haasan, Vijay, Ajith, Suriya, Karthi, Sivakumar, Prabhu, Vikram Prabhu, and Shruti Haasan cast their votes at their respective constituencies.

Rajinikanth was in Mumbai for Darbar shoot but he came to Chennai yesterday night to cast his vote in Lok Sabha elections. As usual, all the big stars stood in long queues and performed their democratic duty.

Actors Sivakarthikeyan, Ramesh Khanna, Robo Shankar and singer Srinivasan did not cast their vote as their name was not in the electoral list. But Sivakarthikeyan was allowed to vote later.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and DMK chief M K Stalin were among the early voters. Palaniswami and Stalin waited in queue at Edappadi in Salem district and Chennai, respectively, and cast their votes.

Stalin said, “I hope people are not influenced by money being distributed by some parties. This election will create a new trend.

People of Tamilnadu have vowed to defeat the governments at the Centre and in Tamilnadu and distribution of Rs 1,000, Rs 2,000, Rs 5,000 and even Rs 10,000 more will not influence them,” he added.

Union minister Pon Radhakrishnan, DMK’s Dayanidhi Maran and Kanimozhi, and Karti Chidambaram of Congress are among key contenders.

Radhakrishnan told reporters in Kanyakumari: “This is a massive democratic festival which will decide the fate of India. I have exercised my franchise… A silent revolution is happening.”