Pon Radhakrishnan to contest from Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat

The BJP today named senior party leader and former Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan as its candidate for the April 6 bypoll to the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha constituency in Tamilnadu.

The BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC), which met earlier under its National President JP Nadda and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Home Minister Amit Shah, approved the candidature of Radhakrishnan, the party announced in a statement in Delhi.

Radhakrishnan had won from Kanyakumari in the 2014 parliamentary polls to be inducted in then Modi-led NDA dispensation as Minister of State, but lost the subsequent 2019 Lok Sabha elections to Kumar from the same constituency.

He was then MoS Finance and Shipping. The bypoll was necessitated due to the death of Congress MP H Vasantha Kumar in August last year due to COVID-19.