Parliament Winter Session begins, 36 bills expected to be passed

The Winter Session of Parliament, during which 36 bills are expected to be passed — including one to repeal the three contentious farm laws — begins today. Taking place over 19 sittings, the session is also expected to introduce one Finance Bill in addition to the 36 legislative bills.

The Farm Laws Repeal Bill has been listed for introduction and passage in the Lok Sabha on the very first day. The ruling BJP and the opposition Congress have both issued a three-line whip for their members of parliament to be present today.

Other bills to be passed in this session include the crucial Cryptocurrency and Regulation of Official Digital Currency Bill, the Insolvency and Bankruptcy (Second Amendment) Bill, and the Electricity (Amendment) Bill. The opposition is likely to corner the government on issues including the Pegasus row and price rise during the 25-day session.

On Saturday, farmers deferred their ‘sansad chalo‘, or ‘march to Parliament’ call, which was initially scheduled for today. “We are postponing the ‘Parliament march’ for November 29. The government has promised us that the laws will be repealed in Parliament on the 29th,” farmer leader Darshan Pal told reporters after a Saturday meeting of the umbrella farmers’ body Samyukt Kisan Morcha (SKM).