No woman mayor for Chennai

No woman mayor for Chennai

Contrary to what was claimed earlier, Chennai may not get a woman mayor this time. While Tiruchy, Tirunelveli, Dindigul, Madurai and Coimbatore have been reserved for women (general), Vellore has been reserved for SC (women). Tuticorin has gone to SC (general). The other five city corporations in Tamil Nadu – Chennai, Salem, Tirupur, Erode and Thanjavur – have been reserved for general category.

The orders in this regard were notified in an extraordinary notification of the Tamil Nadu gazette dated September 16. Of the total 200 wards in Chennai, 92 have been reserved for women (general) while 16 wards have been allocated for women (SC).  Another 16 wards have been reserved for SC (general). For general category, 76 wards have been reserved.

The State Election Commission is yet to notify the poll date. However, the commission, in a government order, said that the elections to Panchayats, Town Panchayats, Municipalities and Corporations shall be for 10 hours between 7 am and 5 pm on the day notified for the poll.

Municipalities including Ranipet, Sirkazhi, Thiruthuraipoondi, Valparai, Udagamandalam, Sankarankoil, Per-nampet, Coonoor and Peramabalur have been reserved for scheduled caste women, while Gudalur municipality in Nilgiris will have a tribal woman as its chairperson, said a GO.

Meanwhile, DMK on Thursday extended the last date for its members to file their applications for local body elections in Tamil Nadu till September 24. Earlier, the last date was September 22. The ruling AIADMK has already completed the process.