NIA takes over TN terror module case

The National Investigation Agency (NIA)has taken over the case in which three persons were arrested from Bengaluru and a suspected IS terror module was busted by the Tamil Nadu ‘Q’ branch police recently.

NIA will probe into the shooting of Special Sub-Inspector Wilson in Kanniyakumari district on January. Abdul Shameem and Thoufiq from Thiruvithamcode, suspected to be part of a terror module, were arrested, along with a few others, on the basis of CCTV camera footage, and accused of shooting SSI Wilson at the Padanthaalumoodu checkpost, where he was carrying out routine vehicle checks. The duo was arrested in Udupi, Karnataka.

The Q suspected terror link when the two told them that they wanted to kill a police officer to avenge the arrest of gun runner Ijas Mohammed Shah and two of his associates in Bengaluru by the Karnataka police. Shameem and Toufeeq got a 9 mm pistol from Ijas and it was used to kill Wilson. They said Wilson was picked at random.

Following this the Q branch invoked the Unlawful Activities( Prevention) Act which deals with terror cases. The Kaliyakkavilai police initially registered a case under Sec 302 (punishment for murder) and 506 (ii) (punishment for criminal intimidation) of the IPC and sec 7 read with 25(1A) and 25(1B) of the Arms Act.

Later they invoked Sec 13 (punishment for unlawful activities), 18 (punishment for conspiracy, etc.) and 20 (punishment for being member of a terrorist gang or organisation) of the UAPA.

Further probe, according to police, revealed that the men for whom the SIM cards were issued were members of an IS module and Liyakat Ali was the link between the module and the gang involved in issuing SIM cards using fake documents.

The police recovered a cell phone from them and found incriminating video and audio clips. “We have secured evidence pointing to their possible links with terror outfits such as IS. They have been involved in recruiting youngsters for terror outfits and terror funding,” said Superintendent of Police V  Varunkumar.