Modi, Rahul Gandhi greet Jayalalithaa

Modi, Rahul Gandhi greet Jayalalithaa

Modi, Rahul Gandhi greet Jayalalithaa

Modi, Rahul Gandhi greet Jayalalithaa

As AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa took charge as chief minister for the sixth time and for the second consecutive time, leaders like prime minister Narendra Modi and Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi greeted her.

Modi tweeted: “Congratulations to Jayalalithaa ji and her team on taking oath. Centre will work closely with new Govt. for progress of TN. @AIADMKOfficial”.

“Congratulations to Jayalalithaa ji & her Cabinet on taking oath. I wish her the very best,” Rahul Gandhi posted on his Twitter page.

Jayalalithaa, who bucked a 32-year trend to storm back to power for a second consecutive term, on Monday took oath as Chief Minister for the sixth time at a function attended by DMK leaders, departing from the practice of rivals keeping away from each other’s swearing-in ceremony.

68-year-old Jayalalithaa, along with 28 others, including her trusted lieutenant O Pannerselvam, took the oath of office and secrecy in the name of God in Tamil that was administered by Governor K Rosaiah.

Later in the evening, the Chief Minister inducted four more ministers, who will be sworn in on Wednesday, taking the size of the Cabinet to 32, the maximum permissible limit under norms.

The new ministers are G.Bhaskaran, minister for Khadi and Village Industries Board, Sevvoor S.Ramachandran, minister for Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments, Nilofer Kabil, minister for labour and P.Balakrishna Reddy, minister for animal husbandry.

With their induction, the new dispensation has addressed the grievance of some sections that there was no representation for Muslims and linguistic minorities in the Cabinet.


Add Comment