Narayanasamy government falls in Puducherry

The Puducherry Union Territory government led by Chief Minister V Narayanasamy was not able to prove its majority in the Assembly today.

Assembly Speaker said Narayanasamy government could not prove its majority and adjourned the house sine die.

Congress MLA K Lakshminarayanan and DMK legislator Venkatesan resigned on Sunday. The resignation of the two MLAs has brought down the ruling party’s strength to 12.

The opposition party has 14 MLAs out of the 33 seats. Seven seats are vacants after as many MLAs resigned in the past few days.

Four Congress MLAs–including ex-ministers A Namassivayam (now in BJP) and Malladi Krishna Rao had quit, while another party legislator was earlier disqualified. Narayanasamy’s confidante A John Kumar had resigned last week.

Telangana Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan who is now in additional incharge of Puducherry has directed Narayanasamy to prove majority by ordering a flooe test on 22 Februray.

A special session has been called for the floor test. Narayanasamy had said that a meeting will be held today morning before the Assembly session where a final decision about the floor test will be taken.