More than 170 nominations received for first phase of Assam polls

More than 173 candidates have filed their nominations for 47 Assam assembly seats going to polls in the first phase on March 27, the state’s chief electoral officer said on Tuesday.

The last date of submission of nominations for the first phase was Tuesday.

The number of candidates filing papers would increase as some districts are yet to submit their list, an official said.

Among prominent candidates who filed nominations on the last day were Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal from Majuli, sitting BJP MLAs Angoorlata Deka from Batadroba, Ashok Singhal from Dhekiajuli, Mrinal Saikia from Khumtai, and Padma Hazarika from Sootea, sitting Congress MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi from Mariani and former Congress minister Bismita Gogoi from Khumtai.