Modi assures all support to new Gujart CM

Two days after Vijay Rupani resigned, Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as the 17th Gujarat Chief Minister on Monday.

The 59-year-old, who represents Ahmedabad’s Ghatlodia constituency, took oath at the Raj Bhavan. Union Home Minister Amit Shah congratulated Patel after the swearing-in ceremony.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Goa CM Pramod Sawant, and Karnataka CM Basavaraj Bommai were also present at the oath-taking ceremony.

Earlier in the day, Bhupendra Patel visited Vijay Rupani and Gujarat BJP president CR Patil. He also called on Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel, who again missed out on the chief ministerial post in the state.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Patel for taking oath as the Gujarat CM. “I have known him for years and have seen his exemplary work, be it in the BJP Organisation or in civic administration and community service. He will certainly enrich Gujarat’s growth trajectory,” he wrote on Twitter.