After MLAs meet, Edappadi group claims majority

After MLAs meet, Edappadi group claims majority

Forty-five of the 50 district secretaries belonging to two factions of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam — Amma and Puratchi Thalaivi Amma (PTA) — attended a meeting chaired by E Madhusudanan, the party’s presidium chairman on Tuesday.

One hundred and eleven MLAs of the ruling AIADMK attended Tuesday’s meeting at the party headquarters called by Palaniswami, according to Fisheries Minister D Jayakumar.

The unified AIADMK led by Palaniswami held a meeting of its legislators and claimed the backing of 124 MLAs, including nine from the sidelined deputy chief TTV Dhinkaran’s camp.

The assertion came after the meeting convened by Palaniswami amid persistent demand by the opposition for a floor test after rebellion by 21 MLAs loyal to Dhinakaran.

“It has been resolved to wholeheartedly accept the leadership of legislature party leader and chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, and the decisions taken by him,” a brief resolution, which was later released to the media, said.

Those district-level functionaries who did not make it to the meeting were P Vetrivel (North Chennai), Thangatamilselvan (Theni), V P Kalairajan (South Chennai – North); M Rengasamy (Thanjavur North) and N G Parthiban (Vellore East), all of whom are with the T T V Dhinakaran camp. Except Kalairajan, all others are MLAs too.