M K Stalin takes oath as Chief Minister of Tamilnadu

DMK leader MK Stalin took oath as the Chief Minister of Tamilnadu today morning. Along with the DMK chief, 34 ministers of his party are also took oath to be appointed in the state cabinet.

The names include 19 former ministers and 15 new faces. It has two women. DMK had fought the elections with its allies and got an absolute majority on its own by bagging 133 seats in the 234-member assembly.

Stalin will hold several portfolios including Home, General Administration, Special Initiatives, Special Programme Implementation and Welfare of Differently -Abled Persons. Medical and Family Welfare portfolio has been assigned to former Chennai Mayor Ma Subramanian and Water Resources has been given to DMK general secretary S Duraimurugan.

The ministers include K N Nehru (Minister for Municipal Administration), I Periasamy (Minister for Cooperation), K Ponmudi (Minister for Higher Education), EV Velu (Minister for Public Works), MRK Panneerselvam(Minister for Agriculture and Farmer’s Welfare), KKSSR Ramachandran (Minister for Revenue and Disaster Management), Thangam Thennarasu (Minister for Industries), S Muthusamy (Minister for Housing and Urban Development), and K R Periakaruppan (Minister for Rural Development) and T M Anbarasan (Minister for Rural Industries).