LS polls: Filing of nominations starts in TN

Filing of nominations in the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies and 18 assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu and one LS seat and assembly seat in Puducherry has started today for the April 18 elections.

The last date for filing nominations is March 26, scrutiny will take place on March 27 and the last date for withdrawing nominations is March 29.

Chief Electoral Officer of Tamil Nadu, Satyabrata Sahoo also chaired a meeting of all DEOs (district electoral officers) and top police officers about the election preparedness.

The CEO said nominations would be accepted on the ‘first-come-first-served-basis’ between 10 am and 3 pm at the designated offices of the Returning Officers. Since March 23 and 24 are holidays, nominations would not be accepted on these days.

Elections to the 17th Lok Sabha are being conducted in seven phases in the country. The first phase will be held on 11 April, second on 18 April, third on 23 April and fourth on 29 April, fifth on 6 May, sixth on 12 May and seventh phase on 19 May. Election results of all the phases will be announced 23 May.

Unlike the previous elections, there could be more serious contenders this time, because, apart from the two major fronts led by AIADMK and DMK, AMMK and MNM are also expected to field candidates in all the seats.

Along with nominations, each candidate should file income tax statement for five years instead of one year. Besides, the candidate should also mention the criminal cases, if any, against him/her and the punishment awarded.