Local body elections announced for 9 districts in Tamilnadu

The Tamilnadu Election Commission has announced rural local body polls for newly carved out nine districts of the state in two phases on October 6 and October 9.

The people of the nine districts of Chengalpattu, Kallakurichi, Kancheepuram, Ranipet, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, Tirupattur, Villupuram and Vellore will cast their votes on the two days.

Elections are being held to 27,003 seats in Kanchipuram, Chengalpattu, Villupuram, Kallakurichi, Vellore, Ranipet, Tirupathur, Tirunelveli and Tenkasi districts.

Earlier this month, the Election Commissioner had chaired a meeting with representatives of political parties and said their opinions would be taken into consideration before the poll schedule was announced.

Filing of nomination would commence on September 15 and continue till September 22. Polling will take place from 7am to 6pm. Covid patients and persons with symptoms will be allowed to vote from 5pm to 6pm.

As many as 1.10 lakh government employees would be engaged in poll duty. The commission would engage an IAS officer as election observer for each district.