L Murugan and Sonowal elected unopposed as Rajya Sabha members

Union Ministers Sarbananda Sonowal and L Murugan were on Monday elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Assam and Madhya Pradesh respectively.

BJP nominee S Selvaganapathy was declared elected unopposed to the lone seat in Rajya Sabha from Puducherry, the first time the party has got representation in the Upper House from the Union Territory, while DMK’s two nominees, Kanimozhi NVN Somu and KRN Rajeshkumar, were elected without contest from Tamilnadu.

Sushmita Dev, who left the Congress and joined the Trinamool Congress a little over a month ago, was declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from West Bengal.

Dev, who is the daughter of Congress heavyweight and former Union Minister Santosh Mohan Dev, is a former Lok Sabha MP from Silchar in Assam.

Senior Congress leader Rajani Patil is also set to be declared elected unopposed to a Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra after the opposition BJP on Monday withdrew its candidate from the next month’s bypolls.