K’taka polls announced, TN CM assures necessary action in Cauvery

The Karnataka Assembly polls will be held on May 12 and the votes will be counted on May 15, Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat announced today.
He also said that the EC has no objection in the formation of Cauvery River Water Management Board.
Meanwhile, Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami today said in Salem that the Central government would be pressurised to set up the Cauvery Management Board.
In Karnataka, there will be a single phase election for the 224-member assembly.
The notification for the polls will be issued on April 17 and the last date for filing of nomination will be April 24, Rawat said at a press conference. April 27 will be the last date of withdrawal of candidates.