Jaya remembered on death anniversary: EPS, OPS lead silent procession to memorial

The ruling AIADMK, TTV Dhinakaran-led AMMK and others observed the third death anniversay of former Chief Minister and AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa today.

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam took out a silent rally this morning to mark the third death anniversary of Jayalalithaa, fondly called as ‘Amma’ by party workers.

Chief Minister and AIADMK Joint Coordinator Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister and Coordinator O Panneerselvam led the rally to mark the occasion.

The rally started at Anna Salai and will end at Jayalalithaa’s memorial on the Marina beach front where the AIADMK leaders paid floral tributes to her. The party cadres also took an oath on the occasion.

Recently, the ruling AIADMK at its general council meeting hailed its top two leaders Panneerselvam and Palaniswami as “guardians” and credited them for their stellar party work.
After the death of its iconic leader J Jayalalithaa in 2016, Panneerselvam and Palaniswami were the “guardians of the party who are rendering stellar work, a resolution adopted at the meeting said.

The endorsement of the duo’s leadership at the general council and executive committee meet assumes significance as this is the first meeting of the top decision making bodies months after some had voiced support for a single leadership.