Incident-free brisk polling, AIADMK files complaint against Maran

Tamil Nadu witnessed brisk polling in 38 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state, with Chief Minister K Palaniswami and DMK chief M K Stalin among the early voters.

Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo said polling has been peaceful and issues like technical glitches in some locations are being addressed.

Asked about delay in polling process due to technical glitches in several polling booths, he said a total of 384 faulty EVMs were replaced with new machines.

Though there were 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in the State,
elections are being held only for 38 seats after the Election Commission (EC) rescinded the polling for the Vellore seat following seizure of large amount of cash.

Meanwhile, the AIADMK today filed a complaint with the Election Commission demanding action against Opposition DMK
President M K Stalin and former Union Minister and DMK Central Chennai Lok Sabha candidate Dayanidhi Maran for their remarks appealing to the people to vote for a change of government, which violated the model code of conduct.

In his complaint to the Chief Election Comissioner, advocate R M Babu Murugavel said, Stalin, while addressing the media after casting his vote, has intentionally tried to divert the mindset of voters saying he voted for a change of government, making false and frivolous allegations against the central and state government.