In major reshuffle, V P Duraisamy, Vanathi Srinivasan, Namitha get new postings in TN BJP

Tamil Nadu BJP President L Murugan on Friday announced new office bearers for the party’s state unit. Former DMK leader V  P Duraisamy who recently joined the BJP was appointed State vice-president, while Vanathi Srinivasan who was earlier general secretary is now also vice president.

State secretaries K T Raghavan, G K Selvakumar, Karu Nagarajan and R Srinivasan have been appointed as the state general secretaries. Gayathri Raghuram, who was removed from the party by former state president Tamilisai Soundararajan in 2018, has been appointed as state president of the cultural wing.

Actress Namitha has been appointed as the state executive member. She joined the party in the presence of J P Nadda during his maiden visit to the State in November last year.

Murugan was appointed as the Tamil Nadu BJP unit president since former state president Tamilisai Soundarajan was appointed as the Governor of Telangana. Three actresses have been appointed as national general council members of the BJP — Namitha, Kutti Padmini, and Gautami.

While Gautami said it was too early to comment about the elevation, Namitha, who joined the party last November, said she was happy with the new role and would execute her duties responsibly. Educationist Madhuvanthi Arun, whose social media comments have in the past provoked major debates, has also been appointed as national general council member.

Former AIADMK MP Sasikala Pushpa who joined the party in February has also been appointed as a national general council member. Former MLA Pon Vijayaraghavan also became a member of the national general council.

New district heads were named for the Nilgiris, Salem West and Cuddalore East among other areas. Representatives were also appointed for various party wings and State working committees and national executive committees.