IFFI: Central govt honour for Rajinikanth

Union Minister for Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Minister of Information & Broadcasting, Prakash Javadekar today announced that superstar Rajinikanth would be honoured with Icon of Golden Jubilee of IFFI.

“In recognition of his outstanding contribution to Indian cinema, during the past several decades, I am happy to announce that the award for the ICON OF GOLDEN JUBILEE OF #IFFI2019 is being conferred on cine star Shri S Rajnikant.
IFFIGoa50,” he said in a tweet.

In another tweet, he said, “Happy to announce that Life Time Achievement Award for a ‘Foreign Artiste’ will be conferred on French Actress Isabelle Hupert.” He added: “International Film Festival in Goa #IFFIGoa50 will showcase 50 films of 50 women directors.”

This is the golden jubilee year of International Film Festival of India. IFFI, founded in 1952, is one of the most significant film festivals in Asia.

Held annually, currently in the state of Goa, on the western coast of the country, the festival aims at providing a common platform for the cinemas of the world to project the excellence of the film art; contributing to the understanding and appreciation of film cultures of different nations in the context of their social and cultural ethos; and promoting friendship and cooperation among people of the world.

The festival is conducted jointly by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Directorate of Film Festivals and the Government of Goa.

At IFFI 2014, Rajinikanth, was conferred with the special centenary award for Indian film personality. An audio-visual presentation of the Tamil superstar’s more than three decades work was shown at the ceremony

An emotional Rajinikanth touched Amitabh Bachchan’s feet, addressing him as ‘big brother’. “I actually came to receive this award but not to make a speech and that too after Amitji’s excellent speech. I have no words to speak,” he said. “I am honoured to receive this award from the government of India and my heartful thanks to the nation. I dedicate this award to all my film producers, directors and fans,” he said.