Hon. President confers the National Florence Nightingale Awards 2020 to 51 Awardees

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind conferred the National Florence Nightingale Awards 2020 to 51 awardees at a virtual ceremony, in the presence of Shri Mansukh Mandaviya, Union Minister of Health & Family Welfare and Dr. Bharati Pravin Pawar, Union Minister of State for Health & Family Welfare.

Congratulating all the health care workers and nurses, The President noted ancient Indian traditions of service and helping the needy which are reflected in the service of our nurses. The President exemplified the selfless contribution of nurses in the gallant fight against COVID-19 as well as their hard work in accelerating the national COVID Vaccination Programme. He added that more than one crore vaccine doses per day has become possible by the exemplary devotion of our nurses. “Your hard-work is a ray of hope and guide people towards light from darkness,” he said. Paying tribute to those who lost their lives, he observed, “Nation will be indebted to your service.”
The President underlined various initiatives taken by the Government such as Midwifery service and insurance scheme under Pradhan Mantri Gareeb Kalyaan Yojana for the health workers. As a vital element in health care delivery, the President acknowledged nurses as the first link between public and health care system.

Echoing the same sentiments, Union Health Minister Shri Mansukh Mandaviya highlighted how 2020 brought the huge challenge of corona pandemic to the whole world. He stated that Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has on several occasions appreciated the contribution of nurses during the COVID pandemic in his address to the nation. He recounted his recent visit to Italy to attend the G-20 health ministers meeting where he highlighted the selfless dedication of the nurses working round the clock during the Corona epidemic. “The human spirit, loyalty and selflessness with which you are serving people are commendable,” he stated. The nursing professionals form one of the most important and crucial pillars of healthcare delivery system, he added. He offered condolences to those who have lost their lives while serving those who were suffering from COVID.

Dr. Bharati Pravin Pawar while giving the vote of thanks expressed gratitude to all the nurses and the COVID warriors who have worked tirelessly during the most trying of times to save lives.

Shri Rajesh Bhushan, Union Health Secretary and other senior officials of the Ministry were also present at the event.

Florence Nightingale awards were instituted in the year 1973 by the Government as a mark of recognition for the meritorious services rendered by nurses to the society.

The event was webcast at https://webcast.gov.in/events/MTQzMQ–/session/MzM2Ng–

The address of the Union Health Minister can be viewed at https://youtu.be/f0u1KTtf8Kc

The achievements of the awardees can be viewed at – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zBdZr170eQ

The following healthcare workers were commended for their work and were awarded the National Florence Nightingale awards 2020 (Seriatum wise)

Sr. NoNameStateCategory
1Smt. D RoopakalaAndhra PradeshClinical Nurses
2Dr. AmuluruPadmajaAndhra PradeshNurse Educator / Researcher
3Smt. RubuYapeArunachal PradeshClinical Nurses
4Smt. Rajila RoyAssamClinical Nurses
5Smt. RenjuKumariBiharAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
6Smt. Bandana KumariBiharClinical Nurses
7Shri. AjayChandigarhClinical Nurses
8Dr. (Mrs.) Indira Jadhav DanielHaryanaNurse Educator / Researcher
9SmtSatya DeviPunjabClinical Nurses
10Dr.(Mrs.)Daisy AbrahamChhattisgarhNurse Educator / Researcher
11Smt. SamdarJanuKamdiDadra and Nagar HaveliAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
12Smt. Victoria Elvira NoronhaDaman and DiuAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
13Smt. Sonia ChauhanDelhiClinical Nurses
14Mrs. ShashiBalaKalraDelhiClinical Nurses
15Mrs. Usha Rani AhujaDelhiClinical Nurses
16Brig SV SaraswatiDelhiNurse Administrator
17 Mrs. GeetaChandrakantSalgaonkar,GoaAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
18ShriPrashantGunuDevidasGoaClinical Nurses
19Smt. BhanumatiSomabhaiGheewalaGujaratClinical Nurses
20Dr. Pragna P DabhiGujaratNurse Administrator
21Smt. VidyaBharantaHimachal PradeshLHV (Lady Health Visitor)
22Smt. ArunaKumariHimachal PradeshClinical Nurses
23 Dr. ShaillaCannieJammu and KashmirNurse Educator / Researcher
24Smt. AshisanKulluJharkhandClinical Nurses
25Smt.  Mariyamma M CKarnatakaAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
26Smt. K Gayathri DeviKarnatakaLHV (Lady Health Visitor)
27Smt. Geetha PKeralaClinical Nurses
28Shri Mohammed AsifLakshadweepClinical Nurses
29Smt. RashmiPandekarMadhya PradeshClinical Nurses
30Smt. Premlata Sanjay PatilMaharashtraAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
31Smt. ShaliniNajukraoKumareMaharashtraClinical Nurses
32Mrs. K. BiaklunManipurAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
33Mrs. Sagolsem Rama Meitei ChanuManipurClinical Nurses
34Smt. LeitmonPasleinMeghalayaAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
35Smt. VanlalthuamiMizoramAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
36Smt. C DengthangpuiiMizoramLHV (Lady Health Visitor)
37Smt. PremalataBarikOdishaLHV (Lady Health Visitor)
38Mrs. P Latha,PuducherryAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
39Smt. K. AnuradhaPuducherryClinical Nurses
40Mrs. Anita VyasRajasthanAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
41Smt. Sunita DeviRajasthanAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
42Smt O V UshaTamil NaduAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
43Smt. S VellankanniTamil NaduAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
44Mrs. G ManimegalaiTamil NaduClinical Nurses
45Smt. AnaparthiArunaKumariTelanganaAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
46Smt. M D ShukuraTelanganaAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
47ShriAshim DasTripuraClinical Nurses
48Smt. Urwashi DixitUttar PradeshClinical Nurses
49Late KamlaThapaUttarakhandClinical Nurses
50Smt. Sunita DuttaWest BengalAuxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs)
51Smt. Nilima DasWest BengalClinical Nurses


HFW/ HFM International Nurses Day/15thSeptember 2021/4

(Release ID: 1755223)